European Tour

Double delight for Stenson

2013-11-17 15:36
Henrik Stenson (AFP Photo)

Dubai - Henrik Stenson of Sweden won the Race to Dubai title on Sunday, confirming him as the European number one golfer for 2013.

The Swede clinched his first European player title in style by eagling the final hole for a 64 at the Jumeirah Golf Estates to win the season-ending DP World Tour Championship title by six strokes from Ian Poulter.

He is the first man to win the European Tour's Race to Dubai title and the US PGA Tour's FedEx Cup title in the same season.

Stenson, who has been in sublime form over the last six months, led the tournament from wire to wire and he started the day with a one stroke lead over France's Victor Dubuisson.

He got off to a sound start and any lingering doubts over the result were erased when the Swede picked up further shots on the 12th and 14th to improve to 23 under par.

Poulter had not given up the fight and had also birdied the 10th and 13th, but that still left him six shots behind.

Poulter also birdied the par-three 17th to move into outright second, but it was only a matter of time before Stenson would follow in the footsteps of Rory McIlroy and get his hands on the tournament silverware and Harry Vardon Trophy as European number one.

McIlroy and the man he succeeded as European number one, Luke Donald, had both carded closing rounds of 67 to finish 15 under, while US Open champion Justin Rose returned a 70 to finish 13 under.

Rose and Graeme McDowell had been able to overtake Stenson with a victory here, but McDowell finished nine under after a final round of 71.

Collated final scores in the $8million DP World Championship, Dubai, on Sunday at the par-72 Earth course of Jumeirah Golf Estates:

263 - Henrik Stenson (SWE) 68-64-67-64
269 - Ian Poulter (ENG) 69-68-66-66
271 - Victor Dubuisson (FRA) 70-66-64-71
272 - Joost Luiten (NED) 73-68-65-66
273 - Luke Donald (ENG) 73-66-67-67, Rory McIlroy (NIR) 71-67-68-67, Lee Westwood (ENG) 70-70-65-68
274 - Jamie Donaldson (WAL) 68-72-67-67, Miguel Angel Jimenez (ESP) 72-66-66-70
275 - Peter Hanson (SWE) 70-68-70-67, Justin Rose (ENG) 70-67-68-70
276 - Jonas Blixt (SWE) 72-65-71-68
277 - Francesco Molinari (ITA) 70-68-70-69
278 - Richard Sterne (RSA) 70-70-70-68, Rafael Cabrera-Bello (ESP) 68-71-68-71, Alezandro Canizares (ESP) 66-67-70-75
279 - Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN) 69-70-71-69, Graeme McDowell (NIR) 72-68-68-71,
280 - Martin Kaymer (GER) 70-69-72-69, Mikko Ilonen (FIN) 72-68-69-71
281 - Thomas Bjorn (DEN) 71-74-69-67, Gregory Bourdy (FRA) 76-70-66-69, Matteo Manassero (ITA) 71-72-68, Darren Fichardt (RSA) 71-71-67-72, Marcus Fraser (AUS) 67-69-72-73
282 - Scott Jamieson (SCO) 73-70-70-69, Ross Fisher (ENG) 75-64-72-71, Pablo Larrazabal (ESP) 72-66-72-72,
283 - David Horsey (ENG) 72-72-68-71, Chris Wood (ENG) 73-66-71-73, Kiradech Apibarnrat (THA) 67-70-70-76
284 - Louis Oosthuizen (RSA) 73-70-71-70, George Coetzee (RSA) 74-67-69-74,
285 - Stephen Gallacher (SCO) 77-71-71-66, Bernd Wiesberger (AUT) 72-73-66-74, David Howell (ENG) 75-66-70-74,
286 - Tommy Fleetwood (ENG) 72-76-70-68, Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (ESP) 71-74-67-74
287 - Simon Khan (ENG) 72-72-74-69, Shane Lowry (IRL) 71-71-70-71, Marcel Siem (GER) 75-67-70-75
288 - Nicolas Colsaerts (BEL) 71-75-71-71, David Lynn (ENG) 71-72-73-72
289 - Raphael Jacquelin (FRA) 77-66-72-74, Craig Lee (SCO) 73-70-71-75, Eduardo de la Riva (ESP) 71-71-72-75,
290 - Felipe Aguilar (CHI) 79-66-73-72, Brett Rumford (AUS) 71-72-74-73, Julian Quesne (FRA) 74-73-69-74,Thongchai Jaidee (THA) 69-70-74-77
291 - Peter Uihlein (USA) 72-72-76-71
292 - Marc Warren (SCO) 74-71-73-74, Branden Grace (RSA) 76-70-71-75
293 - Paul Casey (ENG) 75-68-73-77
297 - Thomas Aiken (RSA) 76-74-73-74
303 - Garth Mulroy (RSA) 76-75-74-78


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.


Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.