Top Stories

Theron bowls Warriors to win

2010-02-05 22:14
Rusty Theron (File)
Buffalo Park - Chevrolet Warriors seamer Rusty Theron bowled the perfect final over to get his side off to a winning start in the Standard Bank Pro20 as the homeside edged the Chevrolet Diamond Eagles by three runs.

Needing to defend nine runs in the last over, Theron kept a cool head to take the wicket of Con de Lange while conceding only five runs as the Warriors restricted the Eagles to 146.

Ryan Bailey fought a loan crusade while making a personal best unbeaten 73 off only 47 deliveries. He cleared the boundary twice and also struck eight fours. But he was let down by his fellow batsman with the next highest score being 15.

Theron was the best of the Warriors bowlers claiming two for 24 in his four overs.

Having lost six players to the national side after winning the MTN40 final against the Nashua Dolphins at the same venue a week previously, the Warriors were looking for a winning start to their “Rock Star Cricket” campaign.

And they achieved that with a fantastic all-round performance.

Earlier, left-hander Colin Ingram scored an aggressive 61 to help the Warriors reach a competitive total of 149 for seven wickets.

Ingram continued the explosive form that saw him top-score with 600 runs in the MTN40 competition as he carted the Eagles bowlers to all corners of the ground.

He smashed five fours and three massive sixes off 49 balls while notching up his second Pro20 half century. He eventually fell caught at deep square by Adrian McLaren off the bowling of seamer Shadley van Schalkwyk.

Ingram received good support from Nicky Boje who slapped a quick-fire 32 off 22 deliveries including four fours and one six.

Dillon du Preez was the best of the Eagles bowlers taking two for 22 in his four overs.

The teams are:

Warriors: Nicky Boje, Colin Ingram, Arno Jacobs, Davy Jacobs (capt), Justin Kreusch, Garnett Kruger, Lyall Meyer, Makhaya Ntini, Jon-Jon Smuts, Rusty Theron, Craig Thyssen

Eagles: Ryan Bailey, Jandre Coetzee, Con de Lange, Boeta Dippenaar, Dillon du Preez, Alan Kruger, Adrian McLaren, Victor Mpitsang, Rilee Rossouw, Shadley van Schalkwyk, Morne van Wyk (capt)

Read more on:    rusty theron

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Who do you think will contest the 2017 Currie Cup final?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.