Top Stories

Marquez on pole in Qatar

2014-03-22 21:20
MARQUEZ ON POLE FOR QATAR: Repsol Honda MotoGP rider Marc Marquez of Spain took a stunning pole position on Saturday evening for the 2014 Losail MotoGP in Doha on March 21 2014. Image: AFP
Doha - World champion Marc Marquez stormed to pole position for the season-opening Qatar MotoGP on Saturday, just a month after breaking aleg.

The 21-year-old Spaniard, riding a factory Honda, claimed his 10th pole in the MotoGP class and 38th overall.

NOT 100% FIT

Marquez, who became the sport's youngest World champion when he triumphed in his rookie years in 2013, finished ahead of compatriot Alvaro Bautista on a Honda and Britian's Bradley Smith on a Yamaha Tech3.

Marquez broke his right leg in a dirt-bike accident in his native Spain at the end of February and had admitted in the run-up to the floodlit Qatar race that he was nowhere near 100% fit.

Qatar MotoGP qualification on Saturday
1 Marc Marquez (Spain) Honda 1min54.507
2 Alvaro Bautista (Spain) Honda 1min54.564
3 Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha 1min54.601
4 Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati 1min54.644
5 Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 1min54.661
6 Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 1min54.703
7 Stefan Bradl (Germany) Honda 1min54.871
8 Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Ducati 1min54.888
9 Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 1min54.986
10 Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 1min55.096

2014 Qatar Moto2 qualification
1 Esteve Rabat (Spain) Kalex 2min00.081
2 Sandro Cortese (Germany) Kalex 2min00.101
3 Takaaki Nakagami (Japan) Kalex 2min00.451
4 Thomas Luethi (Switzerland) Suter 2min00.459
5 Sam Lowes (Britain) Speed up 2min00.547
6 Mika Kallio (Finland) Kalex 2min00.621
7 Xavier Simeon (Belgium) Suter 2min00.696
8 Alex de Angelis (San Marino) Suter 2min00.764
9 Johann Zarco (France) Caterham Suter 2min00.806
10 Simone Corsi (Italy) Forward KLX 2min00.831

2014 Qatar Moto3 qualifying
1 Alex Rins (Spain) Honda 2min05.973
2 Alex Marquez (Spain) Honda 2min06.125
3 Jack Miller (Australia) KTM 2min06.365
4 Jakub Kornfeil (Czech Republic) KTM 2min06.515
5 Isaac Vinales (Spain) KTM 2min06.843
6 Danny Kent (Britain) Husqvarna 2min06.864
7 John McPhee (Britain) Honda 2min07.113
8 Romano Fenati (Italy) KTM 2min07.126
9 Niccolo Antonelli (Italy) KTM 2min07.205
10 Francesco Bagnaia (Italy) KTM 2min07.258

Read more on:    yamaha  |  ducati  |  honda  |  motorcycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

How far will Bafana Bafana progress in this year’s AFCON tournament?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.