Zimbabwe opt to bat in 1st Bangladesh Test

2018-11-03 06:35
Hamilton Masakadza (File)

Sylhet - Zimbabwe captain Hamilton Masakadza won the toss and elected to bat first in the first Test of the two-match series at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium in northeastern Bangladesh on Saturday.

Bangladesh left out Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Mithun, Shafiul Islam, Khaled Ahmed and handed Test debuts to all-rounder Ariful Haque and left-arm spinner Nazmul Islam.

Brandon Mavuta was also making his Test debut for Zimbabwe.

This is the first Test being played in the Sylhet stadium.


Mahmudullah (captaiun), Liton Das, Imrul Kayes, Nazmul Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mominul Haque, Ariful Haque, Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam, Nazmul Islam and Abu Jayed.


Hamilton Masakadza (captain), Brian Chari, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza, Peter Moor, Regis Chakabva, Brandon Mavuta, Wellington Masakadza, Kyle Jarvis and Tendai Chatara.

Umpires: Rod Tucker (AUS), Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

TV Umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Read more on:    zimbabwe  |  hamilton masakadza  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.