World T20 star Brathwaite takes charge

2016-08-09 08:15
Carlos Brathwaite (AP)

St. John's - Carlos Brathwaite, the star of the West Indies World Twenty win, was Monday named as the new skipper of the T20 squad, succeeding the sacked Darren Sammy.

Brathwaite has been appointed captain for the two Twenty20 internationals the West Indies will play against India at Fort Lauderdale in Florida on August 27 and 28.

The new captain memorably smashed four sixes in the final over against England to win this year's World T20 final in Mumbai.

"Brathwaite is one of the most talented players in the T20 format of the game and his humble and committed approach to the game can inspire young and upcoming players," said chairman of selectors, Courtney Browne.

"We are looking forward to a competitive series against India in these matches."

Sammy was sacked on Friday after a six-year spell in charge had brought success in the 2012 and 2016 Twenty20 championships.

Sammy claimed he was dumped in a 30-second phone call from Browne.

West Indies T20 squad:

Andre Fletcher, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Jason Holder, Johnson Charles, Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree, Sunil Narine

Read more on:    west indies  |  carlos brathwaite  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.