Women umpires to break new ground for SA Cricket

2019-08-27 10:42

Cape Town - Cricket South Africa (CSA) have announced the appointments of Lauren Agenbag to the Reserve List Umpires Panel and Shandre Fritz to the the Match Referees Panel for the 2019/20 season.

CSA have broken new ground in its commitment to gender equality at all levels and areas of the game.

Senior umpires Marais Erasmus (ICC Elite Panel), Shaun George (ICC Reserve Test/ODI Panel) and Adrian Holdstock, Bongani Jele and Allahudien Paleker (ICC International Panel), currently serve on the various International Cricket Council (ICC) Panels.

Fritz represented the Proteas women in 59 ODIs and 26 T20Is from 2003-2014. Fritz became the first South African to score a century in T20 cricket against the Netherlands in Potchefstroom.

In 2012, she was named South African Women's Cricketer of the Year award.

"Congratulations to all our umpires on their deserved appointments for the approaching season and particularly to Lauren and Shandre," commented Corrie van Zyl, CSA Acting Director of Cricket. "Umpires are central to the game of cricket and we are fortunate to have an extremely competent group of match officials.

"We will continue to create opportunities for our umpires to develop through our exchange programmes with Australia, India and New Zealand.

"Lauren has already umpired at Women's Senior International level in T20 matches and we have identified her as one of the exciting prospects to come through our Talent Identification Programme (TAP).

"I would also like to pay tribute and extend our thanks to Abdulatief (Tiefie) Barnes who is retiring from our Match Referees Panel after a long and outstanding career both as player and match official," concluded Van Zyl.

CSA First-Class Panel: Murray Brown, Johan Cloete, Siphelele Gasa, Lubabalo Gcuma, Shaun George, Stephen Harris, Ryan Hendricks, Adrian Holdstock, Clifford Isaacs, Arno Jacobs, Bongani Jele, Tom Mokorosi, Allahudien Paleker, Dennis Smith, Abdoellaah Steenkamp, Philip Vosloo, Brad White

CSA Reserve List Panel: Rudi Birkenstock, Dawood Arkeldien, Gawie Botha, Hassen Dawood, Jannie Erasmus, Mazizi Gampu, Gladman Gaseba, Marlon Jansen, Kevin Lawrence, Sinethemba Mjekula, Bongani Ntshebe, Stephen Rex, Jurie Sadler, Abongile Sodumo, Godwin von Willingh, Lauren Agenbag

CSA Match Referees: Devdas Govindjee, Barry Lambson, Zama Ndamane, Laurance Matroos, Gerrie Pienaar, Shaid Wadvalla, Shandre Fritz

Compiled by Lynn Butler

Read more on:    cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.