Windies win toss, put India in to bat

2016-08-09 18:34
Jason Holder (AFP)

Gros-Islet - West Indies captain Jason Holder won the toss and put India in to bat at the start of the third Test of the four-match series at the Darren Sammy National Stadium in St Lucia on Tuesday.

Having escaped with a draw in the second Test in Jamaica due to a combination of inclement weather and an excellent last-day rearguard spearheaded by all-rounder Roston Chase, West Indies have recalled Leon Johnson to open the batting alongside Kraigg Brathwaite at the expense of Rajendra Chandrika.

Fast bowler Alzarri Joseph, a star performer in the team that won the Under-19 World Cup in Bangladesh last February, makes his Test debut in place of leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo.

With a 1-0 lead in the series and needing to win the remaining two Tests to displace Australia at the top if the international rankings, India have made three changes to their line-up.

Experienced batsman Rohit Sharma plays his first match of the series in taking the place of Cheteshwar Pujara. Amit Mishra makes way for left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja while Bhuvneshwar Kumar also makes his series debut with Umesh Yadav dropped.


West Indies

Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Leon Johnson, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Jermaine Blackwood, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich (wicketkeeper), Miguel Cummins, Alzarri Joseph, Shannon Gabriel


Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma

Umpires: Nigel Llong (ENG), Rod Tucker (AUS)

TV umpire: Gregory Brathwaite (WIS)

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Read more on:    india  |  west indies  |  jason holder  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

India may be ranked No 1 in the ICC Test rankings, but after their series defeat to the Proteas, do they really deserve the mantle as world's best?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.