Windies opt to bat first in 2nd Test

2016-07-30 17:04
Kraigg Brathwaite (Gallo Images)

Kingston - West Indies captain Jason Holder won the toss and chose to bat first on the opening day of the second Test against India at Sabina Park in Jamaica on Saturday.

Defeated by an innings and 92 runs inside four days in the first Test in Antigua a week earlier, the home side have drafted in 24-year-old fast-medium bowler Miguel Cummins for a Test debut at the expense of all-rounder Carlos Brathwaite.

India, whose series-opening triumph was their largest margin of victory in Tests outside of Asia, were forced to make one change with Lokesh Rahul replacing Murali Vijay at the top of the batting order after he was ruled out of the match with a thumb injury.


West Indies: Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Rajendra Chandrika, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Jermaine Blackwood, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich (wicketkeeper), Miguel Cummins, Devendra Bishoo, Shannon Gabriel

India: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Amit Mishra, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma Umesh Yadav

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK), Ian Gould (ENG)

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SLK)

Read more on:    west indies  |  jason holder  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.