Will Young selected in New Zealand squad

2018-12-10 07:40
Kane Williamson (Getty)

Wellington - Uncapped batsman Will Young has been selected in New Zealand's squad for the first two cricket Tests against Sri Lanka, beginning at the Basin Reserve on Saturday. 

Young, who has been in form for New Zealand A and in domestic first-class and one-day competitions, adds batting cover in the 13-man squad announced on Monday for the first and second Tests of the three-match series. 

Left-armer Ajaz Patel, who made his debut in New Zealand's recent Test series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates, is the only spinner included in the squad and will likely play his first test on home soil at Wellington. 

Patel held out challenges for the sole spinner position from off-spinner Will Somerville and leg-spinner Ish Sodhi.

New Zealand seldom plays two spinners in home Tests, leaving no room for Will Somerville, who made his debut in the third test against Pakistan, helping to bowl New Zealand to a match and series victory. 

"There's a real swell of support for the Test team following their efforts in the UAE so we're hoping to transition that momentum into a big home summer," selector Gavin Larsen said. "AJaz certainly grabbed his opportunity on the UAE tour and he's a proven performer in New Zealand conditions. 

"Will Somerville was an obvious stand-out on debut in the Abu Dhabi decider and it's great to know we've got quality spin bowlers who can create competition for places." 

Young scored centuries against Pakistan 'A' and India 'A' in recent months and Larsen said the batsman "fully deserves his call-up."

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Jeet Raval, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, B.J. Watling, Will Young.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.