West Indies win toss, bat against India in 2nd Test

2018-10-12 07:36
Jason Holder (Gallo)

Hyderabad - West Indies captain Jason Holder won the toss and elected to bat against India in the second and final Test in Hyderabad on Friday.

LIVE: India v West Indies, 2nd Test

Holder, who missed the team's opening loss due to an ankle injury, comes in for fast bowler Keemo Paul. Paceman Sherman Lewis has been replaced by spinner Jomel Warrican. 

"Looks a pretty good wicket to bat on. Looking forward to (make) use of the new surface," Holder said at the toss.

"It's tough sitting out and watch the game but that's bound to happen. We all know what we're capable of doing."

India have made just one change from their record win in Rajkot last week with debutant paceman Shardul Thakur coming in for Mohammed Shami, who has been rested.

Skipper Virat Kohli admitted that he would have also batted first as the world's top Test side eyes a series sweep.

"Not bothered of the toss but I would have batted first as well. We have to focus on this series, just focusing on repeating the things we did in the first game," said Kohli.

"Shami has been rested, he has played six Tests and has bowled a lot of overs."

India are runaway favourites to sweep the series after they hammered the West Indies by an innings and 272 runs in the first Test.



Virat Kohli (captain), Lokesh Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur

West Indies

Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Kieran Powell, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase, Sunil Ambris, Shane Dowrich, Devendra Bishoo, Jomel Warrican, Shannon Gabriel

Umpires: Bruce Oxenford (AUS) and Ian Gould (ENG)

TV umpire: Nigel Llong (ENG)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Read more on:    india  |  west indies  |  jason holder  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the upcoming India v Proteas three-match ODI series?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.