West Indies bowl in 1st Test against India

2019-08-22 16:30
Jason Holder (Getty Images)

Antigua and Barbuda - West Indies captain Jason Holder won the toss and put India in to bat at the start of the first Test of the two-match series at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua on Thursday.

After dominating the preceding T20 and One-Day International series, India are seeking to extend their dominance in the Caribbean.

The tourists are fielding a team featuring three fast bowlers and one specialist spinner, Ravindra Jadeja getting the nod ahead of Ravi Ashwin, the 'Man of the Series' when the tourists last played in the Caribbean three years ago.

There is also no place in the final 11 for Rohit Sharma with Ajinkya Rahane and Hanuma Vihari preferred in the middle-order of a batting line-up where captain Virat Kohli has been the star performer so far on this campaign.

In a surprise move, West Indies have omitted first-choice wicketkeeper Shane Dowrich and given a debut to 30-year-old middle-order batsman Shamarh Brooks. Shai Hope will do duties behind the stumps for the match.

Seeking their first Test and series victories over India for 17 years, the hosts were also forced to make a late change with an ankle injury ruling out all-rounder Keemo Paul. His place in the side has been taken by seamer Miguel Cummins.


West Indies - Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, John Campbell, Shai Hope (wicketkeeper), Shimron Hetmyer, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Shamarh Brooks, Kemar Roach, Miguel Cummins, Shannon Gabriel

India - Virat Kohli (captain), K.L. Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma

Umpires: Richard Kettleborough (ENG), Rod Tucker (AUS)

Match Referee: David Boon (AUS)

Read more on:    india  |  west indies  |  virat kohli  |  jason holder  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the upcoming Proteas v Australia three-match T20 series?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.