West Indies bat against India in 5th and final ODI

2018-11-01 10:03
jason holder, west indies
Jason Holder (Gallo Images)

Thiruvananthapuram - West Indies captain Jason Holder won the toss and elected to bat against India in the fifth and final one-day international in Thiruvananthapuram on Thursday.

LIVE: India v West Indies, 5th ODI

The tourists have made two changes as they bid to finish all square in the five-match series, in which they trail 1-2. The second ODI was tied.

Devendra Bishoo comes in for the injured Ashley Nurse, while paceman Oshane Thomas replaces Chandrapaul Hemraj.

Nurse, who injured his shoulder bowling during the fourth game in Mumbai, has been ruled out for the series with three Twenty20 internationals coming up after the ODIs.

"It looks a very good wicket and looks a bit dry as well. Hopefully we will get some runs on the board and our bowlers would go out there and defend it," Holder said at the toss.

"We just need to be more consistent to beat the best teams. We have given glimpses of that in this series."

The hosts have retained the same XI that won them Monday's game and skipper Virat Kohli said he was happy to bowl first.

"The wicket won't change but dew is going to be a massive factor," said Kohli.

"Been overcast for a few days, so there will be help for the quicks, and the spinners will also have help here. I think we're in good hands bowling first."



Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed

West Indies

Jason Holder (captain), Kieran Powell, Shai Hope (wk), Marlon Samuels, Shimron Hetmyer, Rovman Powell, Fabian Allen, Devendra Bishoo, Keemo Paul, Kemar Roach, Oshane Thomas

Umpires: Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND), Paul Wilson (AUS)

TV umpire: Ian Gould (ENG)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Read more on:    india  |  west indies  |  jason holder  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.