Vince to lead England Lions against SA 'A'

2017-05-22 08:17
James Vince (Getty Images)

Cape Town - James Vince has been chosen as captain for the England Lions when they face South Africa 'A' in a three-match one-day series next month.

Hampshire skipper Vince, who has played seven Tests and five ODIs, is one of four players in the Lions' squad who has senior international experience, the others are batsman Ben Duckett, paceman Steven Finn and all-rounder Liam Dawson.

Essex batsman Dan Lawrence, and Sussex's left-arm pace bowler George Garton, who both played in the ICC Under-19s World Cup in Bangladesh last year, have also been included in the 13-man list.

National Selector James Whitaker said: "We wanted to select a strong and experienced Lions squad for this series, as it coincides with the early stages of the ICC Champions Trophy, and therefore provides us with the opportunity to keep our standby players in white-ball action.

"The quality of the squad we have selected reflects well on the strength in depth we now have in 50-over cricket which has emerged through the county game.

"All the players in this squad will have the 2019 World Cup in their sights, and playing for the Lions offers them the platform to show what they can do."

The Lions series starts at Trent Bridge on Thursday, June 1 with the remaining two games at Northampton on Saturday, June 3 and Monday, June 5, the latter a day-night fixture.

After the one-day series, the Lions will play an unofficial Test against South Africa 'A' at Canterbury from June 21-24, with the squad to be named next month.

England Lions one-day squad:

James Vince (capt), Daniel Bell-Drummond, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Ben Duckett, Steven Finn, Ben Foakes, George Garton, Dan Lawrence, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton

South Africa ‘A’ squad for 50-over series against England Lions:

Reeza Hendricks (Highveld Lions), Jon Jon Smuts (Warriors), Aiden Markram (Titans), Temba Bavuma (Highveld Lions), Theunis de Bruyn (Knights), Khaya Zondo - captain (Dolphins), Hein Kuhn (Titans), Dwaine Pretorius (Highveld Lions), Mangaliso Mosehle -wk (Highveld Lions), Sisanda Magala (Warriors), Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans), Lungisani Ngidi (Titans), Duanne Olivier (Knights), Junior Dala (Titans), Dane Paterson (Cape Cobras)

Read more on:    south africa a  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the upcoming Proteas v Australia three-match T20 series?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.