Venues confirmed for new-look SA T20 League

2018-10-11 15:07
Thabang Moroe
Thabang Moroe (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced the selected venues to host the six T20 League teams following the successful completion of the independent assessment process.

The selected venues are (in no order of significance): Wanderers Stadium, SuperSport Park, Kingsmead, St. George’s Park, Newlands and Boland Park. 

It means that the Western Cape will boast two franchises while Bloemfontein are excluded. 

“The key mandate given to all our Members in applying to be a host venue was the primary goal of luring new and traditional fans, other sports fans and the wider general public to our stadia,” commented CSA Chief Executive Thabang Moroe.

“This process was, in fact, started some time ago when CSA embarked on a National Stadium Grading Process of all our first-class venues. 

“The buzz phrase for the independent assessment was the ‘Fan Journey’ which starts with the fans’ arrival at the stadium and includes the full package of transport options both to and from the stadium and traffic management, ease of access, safety and security arrangements, catering, and interaction activities and opportunities specific to the fan experience. 

“From our observations of other T20 Leagues around the world and competitions in other sporting codes it has become clear that the fan experience is all important. 

“Our research has shown us that the match day experience is enhanced by fans ‘leaving their seats’, either to engage with other fans in different areas of the stadium, to partake in various sponsor and event activations or to cheer and support their favourite team/player. 

“We have every confidence that the plans our Members have come up will enhance these expectations for the T20 League.”

Read more on:    csa  |  cape town  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.