Teams winning Tests after following-on

2018-05-15 07:24
Shane Warne (Getty)

Dublin - Ireland go into the final day of their inaugural Test at Malahide looking to become only the fourth side to win after following on.

They will resume against Pakistan on Tuesday on 319 for seven, a lead of 139, with Kevin O'Brien unbeaten on 118.

SCORECARD: Ireland v Pakistan

A look back at the only three occasions in the 141-year history of men's Test cricket where a side have won after following-on:

1894, Sydney

England beat Australia by 10 runs

Australia piled up 586, with Syd Gregory making 201 and captain George Giffen 161.

England made 325 and followed on 261 behind only to amass 437 in their second innings with Albert Ward scoring 117.

Australia collapsed to 166 all out, with left-arm spinner Robert Peel taking six for 67.

1981, Headingley

England beat Australia by 18 runs

Arguably the most celebrated match in English cricket history started with Australia scoring 401 for nine declared, an innings featuring opener John Dyson's century and six for 95 from England all-rounder Ian Botham, in his first Test match since resigning as captain.

England slumped to 174 all out in reply, with Botham's half-century the only highlight.

Australia captain Kim Hughes, looking to put his side 2-0 up in an Ashes series, enforced the follow-on with England 227 behind.

England slumped to 135 for seven in their second innings. But Botham, one of England's greatest all-rounders, made 149 against a pace attack featuring Dennis Lillee, Terry Alderman and Geoff Lawson.

The late Graham Dilley offered support with 56 as England reached 356 all out leaving Australia 130 to win.

Veteran fast bowler Bob Willis took eight for 43 as Australia collapsed from 56-1 to 111 all out after England had been ranked 500/1 outsiders by bookmakers earlier in the match.

2001 Kolkata

India beat Australia by 171 runs

The match that put off a generation of Test captains from enforcing the follow-on began with skipper Steve Waugh scoring 110 in Australia's 445 and off-spinner Harbhajan Singh taking India's first Test hat-trick.

India were 171 all out and Waugh, eyeing a 17th consecutive Test win and a first series victory in India since 1969, enforced the follow-on.

It looked the right move when India were reduced to 115 for three. But VVS Laxman, after first-innings fifty, produced one of the all-time great batting displays to score 281 on a turning pitch against an attack including arguably the greatest leg-spinner of all time - Shane Warne.

Rahul Dravid's 180 in a fifth-wicket stand of 376 took India to 657 for 7 before the declaration left Australia a target of 384.

They could only manage 212, with Harbhajan taking six for 73 to the delight of raucous crowd at Eden Gardens.

Read more on:    cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Following Ottis Gibson's firing, who would you like to see handed the new Team Manager role?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.