Strong local flavour to Durban Heat squad

2018-10-17 17:33
Durban Heat
Durban Heat (File)

Durban - An exciting draft for the inaugural Mzansi Super League saw the Durban Heat select a strong, well balanced squad with a decidedly local flavour for the much-anticipated T20 tournament kicking off on 16 November.

Following the announcement that Durban-born Hashim Amla was to be the South African marquee player for the Heat, in the first round of the draft the Durban side selected Afghanistan superstar and world beating leg-spinner Rashid Khan as their international marquee player.

The squad of 16 players includes 13 players who have international experience, as well as eight players who have or currently play for the domestic Durban franchise - the Dolphins.

Picked up in the second round of the draft by the Heat was David Miller. 

The player who shares the record for the fastest T20I 100 has a proven track record in the format and will be a vital part of the leadership of the squad.

Heinrich Klaasen, who is making a name for himself internationally, was the fourth pick by the Heat's brains trust while Proteas spinner Keshav Maharaj was also selected along with his Dolphins captain Khaya Zondo.

"We managed to pick up the spine of our side with our main bowlers and our power hitters early which meant that we just needed to put some more meat on the bone," coach Grant Morgan said.

"You will have a situation where you might not have enough meat but we feel that we have got more than enough meat on the bone.

"We feel that we have got the best possible balance we can get and even when guys are away we have a squad that can still win games."

Experienced campaigner Albie Morkel will also call Durban his home for a month from November along with Proteas seamer Vernon Philander and Proteas batsman Temba Bavuma.

The Heat managed to snap up a couple Kolpak players in the draft. Quick bowler Marchant de Lange, who plays for Glamorgan in the UK, as well as former Dolphins star and current Hampshire quick Kyle Abbott.

Young Cape Cobras seamer Tladi Bokako was also included in the Heat squad along with the rookie pick and Dolphins fast bowler, Okuhle Cele.

The Heat also managed to pick up two local stalwarts in Morné van Wyk and SJ Erwee. Van Wyk has a T20I 100 against the West Indies and Erwee began last year's domestic T20 tournament with a blistering 100 against the Cobras.

After proving to be one of the stand-out players in the Zimbabwe squad that recently toured South Africa, the Heat picked leg-spinning all-rounder Brendon Mavuta as their 11th round pick.

"We have put together a squad that we are proud of and a squad that has a strong Durban flavour," Morgan added.

"Our squad also incorporates a lot of other players that can add more spice and value to our set up.

"We want our team to make Durbanites excited for this tournament and we want to bring them some joy in the holiday season."

Durban Heat Squad:Hashim Amla, Rashid Khan, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Kyle Abbott, Keshav Maharaj, Khaya Zondo, Albie Morkel, Marchant de Lange, Vernon Philander, Brandon Mavuta, Temba Bavuma, Morné van Wyk, Okuhle Cele, Sarel Erwee, Tladi Bokako

Read more on:    durban heat  |  mzansi super league  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.