Steyn, Miller, Morris released from IPL contracts

2019-11-18 20:13
Dale Steyn (Gallo)
Dale Steyn (Gallo)

Cape Town - Proteas fast bowler Dale Steyn has been released from his Indian Premier League (IPL) contract by the Royal Challengers Bangalore for next year's 13th edition.

Steyn, who retired from Test cricket in August, only played two IPL matches this season after picking up a shoulder injury which resulted in him missing the Cricket World Cup in England.

In addition, Proteas all-rounder Chris Morris was dropped by the Delhi Capitals after picking up 13 wickets and scoring 32 runs in his nine matches in IPL 2019.

Hard-hitting batsman David Miller had a disappointing showing with the bat for the Kings XI Punjab, scoring 213 runs in 10 games, which saw his contract terminated.

Reigning champions, the Mumbai Indians, released Proteas fast bowler Beuran Hendricks, while they retained Proteas wicketkeeper/batsman Quinton de Kock.

The Chennai Super Kings retained Proteas star trio Imran Tahir, Faf du Plessis and Lungi Ngidi after their impressive seasons with the runners-up.

The IPL's highest wicket-taker last season, Kagiso Rabada, was retained by the Delhi Capitals after the Proteas fast bowler picked up 25 wickets in his 12 matches.

India's favourite South African, AB de Villiers, was retained by Royal Challengers Bangalore, which has been his IPL franchise since 2011.

Proteas fast bowler Hardus Viljoen was retained by the Kings XI Punjab side after taking seven wickets in his six matches this season.

Viljoen, who recently ended his Kolpak contract with Derbyshire, has played one Test for the Proteas in 2016.

The IPL 2020 player auction will take place in Kolkata on Thursday, December 19, 2019.

South African players retained:

Kagiso Rabada - Delhi Capitals

AB de Villiers - Royal Challengers Bangalore

Imran Tahir - Chennai Super Kings

Quinton de Kock - Mumbai Indians

Faf du Plessis - Chennai Super Kings

Lungi Ngidi - Chennai Super Kings

Hardus Viljoen - Kings XI Punjab

South African players released:

David Miller - Kings XI Punjab

Dale Steyn - Royal Challengers Bangalore

Chris Morris - Delhi Capitals

Beuran Hendricks - Mumbai Indians

Colin Ingram - Delhi Capitals

Anrich Nortje - Kolkata Knights Riders 

Heinrich Klaasen - Royal Challengers Bangalore

- Compiled by Lynn Butler

Read more on:    ipl  |  dale steyn  |  david miller  |  chris morris  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.