Steyn included in T20 Global League

2017-08-25 14:14
Dale Steyn (Gallo)

Johannesburg – Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel and Andile Phehlukwayo headline over 160 local players shortlisted to participate in the inaugural T20 Global League draft to be held this weekend. 

The two Proteas fast bowlers and all-rounder are among 34 men that have played for South Africa in the recent past to have made the grade for the big squad determination gala to be staged in Cape Town on Saturday and Sunday (August 26-27). 

Other star names released by Cricket South Africa (CSA) are Lungi Ngidi, Chris Morris, Albie Morkel, Farhaan Behardien, Henry Davids, Wayne Parnell, Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi. 

They will join the marquee players who have already been assigned to the eight participating franchises. Those players were named in April and are Faf du Plessis (Stellenbosch), AB de Villiers (Pretoria), Quinton de Kock (Benoni), Hashim Amla (Durban), Kagiso Rabada (Johannesburg), JP Duminy (Cape Town), David Miller (Bloemfontein) and Imran Tahir (Port Elizabeth).  

Apart from those that have already played for their country at the highest level, there are also others on the list that will be undoubtedly be attractive to the owners.

South Africa 'A' captains Aiden Markram and Khaya Zondo as well as Wiaan Mulder and Robbie Fylinck were excellent for their franchises in the past season and will certainly be appealing.

Then there are those that have shone at youth level, the likes of Okuhle Cele, Janneman Malan and Matthew Christensen, who will also attract interest from the franchises. 

“The list of South African players shows what a vast pool of talent this country has,”
commented CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat.

“I believe there are not many countries that can boast such a high quality group of cricketers as we are blessed with.

“There are more than 30 players that have represented the Proteas, with many others that have played cricket for South Africa through the age group levels, and these on their own will be tempting options at the draft.

“Add to that the up-and-coming players as well as the foreign players that are available and it all makes for a very exciting cricket weekend. I am sure the coaches and owners will have plenty to do over the next few days,” concluded Lorgat. 

The release of the SA player names that will go into the hat for the draft follows the news that squad numbers have been increased from 17 to 18 players - five (5) of whom will be international players (includes Kolpak players).


Imran Tahir, Eddie Leie, Keshav Maharaj, Aaron Phangiso, Dane Piedt, Tabraiz Shamsi, George Linde, Shaun von Berg, Thomas Kaber, Ruben Claassen, Junaid Dawood, Bjorn Fortuin, Gregory Mahlokoana, Smangaliso Nhlebela, Tshepo Ntuli, Kyle Simmonds, Prenelan Subrayen


Kagiso Rabada, Beuran Hendricks, Morne Morkel, Lungi Ngidi, Duanne Olivier, Dane Paterson, Mthokozisi Shezi, Dale Steyn, Craig Alexander, Ottneil Baartman, Andrew Birch, Tladi Bokako, Junior Dala, Corne Dry, Rabian Engelbrecht, Ayabulela Gqamane, Eldred Hawken, Carmi le Roux, Sisanda Magala, Alfred Mothoa, Ayavuya Myoli, Jerry Nqolo, Nono Pongolo, Rowan Richards, Malusi Siboto, Shadley van Schalkwyk, Basheeru Walters, Ferisco Adams, Warren Bell, Matt McGillivray, Sammy Mofokeng, Tshepo Moreki, Eathan Bosch, Mbulelo Budaza, Okuhle Cele, Michael Cohen, Keith Dudgeon, Daryn Dupavillon, Sithembele Langa, Akhona Mnyaka, Mthi Nabe, Anrich Nortje, Solo Nqweni, Migael Pretorius, Andrew Rasemene, Lizaad Williams, Lwandiswa Zuma


Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, Albie Morkel, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Dwaine Pretorius, Jon-Jon Smuts, Werner Coetsee, Dillon du Preez, Robbie Frylinck, Luthando Mnyanda, Calvin Savage, Grant Thomson, Gionne Koopman, Kyle Nipper, Aubrey Swanepoel, Driaan Bruwer, Dayyaan Galiem, Wiaan Mulder, Senuran Muthusamy, Onke Nyaku, Jason Smith

Middle-order batsmen:

AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Temba Bavuma, Farhaan Behardien, Henry Davids, Theunis de Bruyn, Reeza Hendricks, Heino Kuhn, Mangaliso Mosehle, Justin Ontong, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Qaasim Adams, Andrea Agathangelou, Cody Chetty, Gihahn Cloete, Chris Jonker, Simon Khomari, Heinrich Klaasen, Wihan Lubbe, Aviwe Mgijima, Grant Mokoena, Lesiba Ngoepe, Keegan Petersen, Omphile Ramela, Rudi Second, Yaseen Vallie, Pite van Biljon, Nicky van den Bergh, Khaya Zondo, Tumelo Bodibe, Mbasa Gqadushe, Matthew Kleinveldt, Andre Malan, Eddie Moore, Letlotlo Sesele, Somila Seyibokwe, Kelly Smuts, Marques Ackerman, Matthew Christensen, Tony de Zorzi, Leus du Plooy, Clyde Fortuin, Andries Gous, Zubayr Hamza, Patrick Kruger, Sibonelo Makhanya, Marco Marais, Neo Mlumbi, Karabo Mogotsi, Rivaldo Moonsamy, Gavin Morris, Shaylen Pillay, Ryan Rickelton, Diego Rosier, Farhaan Sayanvala, Yaseen Valli, Raynard van Tonder, Kyle Verreynne

Opening batsmen:

Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Stephen Cook, Dean Elgar, Andrew Puttick, Morne van Wyk, Sarel Erwee, Dominic Hendricks, Pieter Malan, Rassie van der Dussen, Jonathan Vandiar, David White, Gerhardt Abrahams, Mike Erlank, Matthew Breetzke, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram

Read more on:    t20 global league  |  dale steyn  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.