Sri Lanka win toss, opt to bat in third West Indies ODI

2020-03-01 11:16
Kusal Mendis (Getty Images)

Pallekele - Sri Lanka skipper Dimuth Karunaratne won the toss and elected to bat in the third one-day international against the West Indies on Sunday in their bid to sweep the series.

The hosts, who took a 2-0 lead in the three-match series on Wednesday, have retained their winning XI in Pallekele.

"It's a good wicket, we are playing two spinners and we want to give them a chance in the second innings," Karunaratne said at the toss.

"Our batters and bowlers, both are performing well and it's been a good series for us so far."

West Indies have made one change as they eye a consolation win. Leg-spinner Hayden Walsh comes in place of paceman Keemo Paul.

Captain Kieron Pollard said results aside every game was a new opportunity.

"We would have batted too. Now we are bowling first so we want to restrict them to a chaseable total," Pollard said.

"At the end of the day, people tend to go on results only. At the end of the day, you're a professional cricketer, and you want to put on a good show."


Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne(captain), Avishka Fernando, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Thisara Perera, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Pradeep

West Indies: Kieron Pollard (captain), Shai Hope, Sunil Ambris, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Nicholas Pooran, Jason Holder, Fabian Allen, Alzarri Joseph, Sheldon Cottrell, Hayden Walsh

Umpires: Raveendra Wimalasiri (SRI), Paul Wilson (AUS)

TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)

Read more on:    sri lanka  |  west indies  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the upcoming India v Proteas three-match ODI series?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.