Sri Lanka win toss in second West Indies test

2018-06-14 17:43
Dinesh Chandimal (Gallo)

Gros-Islet - Sri Lanka captain Dinesh Chandimal won the toss and chose to bat first on Thursday in the second test against West Indies at the Darren Sammy Stadium in St Lucia.

West Indies have predictably retained the same team that won the first test in Trinidad by 226 runs last Sunday.

Sri Lanka have made four changes with two of the alterations forced by the return home of former captain Angelo Mathews for personal reasons and fast-medium bowler Lahiru Gamage with a fractured finger which he broke while batting on the final day of the opening Test.

Off-spinning all-rounder Dilruwan Perera and experienced left-arm spinner Rangana Herath have been dropped from the side that suffered a first Test match defeat to the West Indies in ten years.

Sri Lanka's selectors said before the series that Herath was one of three experienced players, Mathews and seamer Suranga Lakmal being the others, likely to be rested for one of the three matches.

Middle-order batsman Dhananjaya De Silva, who arrived in the Caribbean only last week due to the death of his father two weeks ago, returns to the eleven, as does spinner Akila Dananjaya, who took eight wickets on his debut in Bangladesh last February.

Making their Test debuts for Sri Lanka are batsman Mahela Udawatte, who is expected to open, and pace bowler Kasun Rajitha.


West Indies - Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Devon Smith, Kieran Powell, Shai Hope, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich (wicketkeeper), Devendra Bishoo, Kemar Roach, Miguel Cummins, Shannon Gabriel.

Sri Lanka - Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Kusal Perera, Mahela Udawatte, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Mendis, Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wicketkeeper), Akila Dananjaya, Suranga Lakmal, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara.

Umpires: Ian Gould (ENG), Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)

Read more on:    sri lanka  |  west indies  |  dinesh chandimal  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Following the Proteas' dire tour of India, how will their 4-Test series against England pan out?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.