Sri Lanka win toss, bowl in 1st T20 v India

2017-12-20 16:16
Thisara Perera (AFP)

Cuttack - Sri Lanka captain Thisara Perera won the toss and chose to bowl in the opening Twenty20 international against India in Cuttack on Wednesday.

LIVE: India v Sri Lanka, 1st T20I

The visitors, who lost the preceding one-day series 2-1 on Sunday, made four changes after their eight-wicket defeat in the Visakhapatnam ODI.

They brought in paceman Dushmantha Chameera, debutant left-arm quick Vishwa Fernando, all-rounder Dasun Shanaka and batsman Kusal Perera.

"We didn't bat well in the third match (and) in the second match we didn't bowl well. Now we just have to move on and play our own game. We can beat anyone," Perera said at the toss. 

India captain Rohit Sharma said he also would have bowled first had he won the toss but believed his team was capable of handling any situation.

"Dew will be a factor, but we have played under those conditions many times," said Sharma.

"The first games we played against these guys in Tests and ODIs, we didn't have the start that we would have liked but we would like to change things around here." 

The hosts made two changes, with Lokesh Rahul coming in for fellow opener Shikhar Dhawan and fast bowler Jaydev Unadkat replacing Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

The second T20 will be played in Indore on Friday followed by the third and final game on Sunday in Mumbai.



Rohit Sharma (captain), Lokesh Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Jaydev Unadkat, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Sri Lanka

Thisara Perera (captain), Upul Tharanga, Niroshan Dickwella (wicketkeeper), Kusal Perera, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Dasun Shanaka, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya, Vishwa Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep

Umpires: Nitin Menon (IND) and CK Nandan (IND)

TV umpire: Anil Chaudhary (IND)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more on:    india  |  sri lanka  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

India may be ranked No 1 in the ICC Test rankings, but after their series defeat to the Proteas, do they really deserve the mantle as world's best?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.