Sri Lanka win toss, bowl first in 3rd India T20

2020-01-10 15:33
Lasith Malinga
Lasith Malinga (Getty Images)

Pune - Sri Lanka skipper Lasith Malinga won the toss and elected to bowl in the third and final Twenty20 international against India in Pune on Friday.

The islanders, who trail the three-match series 1-0 after the opening T20 was washed out, made two changes to their starting line-up from their previous loss on Tuesday.

Former captain Angelo Mathews and mystery spinner Lakshan Sandakan return to the XI in place of injured Isuru Udana and Bhanuka Rajapaksa.

"There might be dew in the second innings. Our top four batsmen need to get big runs," Malinga said.

India, led by Virat Kohli, have made three changes in their bid to clinch the series.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson, Manish Pandey and Yuzvendra Chahal come in place of Rishabh Pant, Shivam Dube and Kudeep Yadav.

Kohli said batting first was always the plan in order to test different situations.

"We wanted to bat first as we wanted to do something different today," said Kohli.

"Trend is going towards team batting second. You can't go into the match thinking you can only do well when you chase. We want to embrace difficult things also."



Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Sri Lanka

Lasith Malinga (capt), Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Perera, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka, Lakshan Sandakan, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara

Umpires: Nitin Menon (IND), Virender Sharma (IND)

TV umpire: Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Read more on:    india  |  sri lanka  |  lasith malinga  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.