Sri Lanka win toss, bat against India

2017-08-27 11:37
Cricket bat (Gallo Images)

Pallekele - Sri Lanka's stand-in-captain Chamara Kapugedera won the toss Sunday and chose to bat in the third one-day international against India in Pallekele.

The hosts, who trail the five-match series 2-0, have made two changes to their starting lineup after regular captain Upul Tharanga was slapped with a two-match ban and Danushka Gunathilaka was ruled out with an injury.

Test captain Dinesh Chandimal returned to the side, having last played in the Champions Trophy in June, and top-order batsman Lahiru Thirimanne also made a return to the limited-overs fold.

"Pretty good mood in the camp. After the last game, we fought really well. We just couldn't step over the line but the motivation is good," Kapugedera said at the toss.

Indian captain Virat Kohli named an unchanged team from the side that won a close second game by three wickets on Thursday.

"I would have bowled first. No need to change plans that are working. First was a big win, the second was rocky. But that's only because of one bowler (Akila Dananjaya)," said Kohli.


Sri Lanka: Chamara Kapugedera (captain), Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella (wicketkeeper), Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Lahiru Thirimanne, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Milinda Siriwardana, Lasith Malinga, Vishwa Fernando.

India: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Kedar Jadhav, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Umpires: Ruchira Palliyaguruge (SRI), Joel Wilson (WIS)

TV umpire: Paul Reiffel (AUS)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Read more on:    india  |  sri lanka  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Your thoughts on the two-Test suspension handed down by the ICC to Proteas speedster Kagiso Rabada?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.