Sri Lanka restore Jayasuriya as selection boss

2016-04-27 21:03
Sanath Jayasuriya and Marvan Atapattu (AFP)

Colombo - Sri Lanka on Wednesday brought back former skipper Sanath Jayasuriya to be the chief of a new panel of cricket selectors, following the country's abortive defence of the ICC World Twenty20.

The four-member panel was brought in to replace a previous ad-hoc committee headed by former Test player Aravinda de Silva, which was set up just hours before the team was due to leave for India.

The World Twenty20 tournament last month saw reigning champions Sri Lanka crash out at the group stages.

Two selectors, Romesh Kaluwitharana and Ranjith Madurasinghe, have been retained in the new panel while the fourth man is Eric Upashantha, also a former player and selector.

Jayasuriya previously headed the selection panel from January 2013 to March 2015.

"The new (selection) committee will take office on May 1, 2016," Sri Lanka Cricket said in a statement.

Sri Lanka tours England in May and June and will play three Tests, five One-Day Internationals and one T20 match.

Read more on:    sri lanka  |  sanath jayasuriya  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.