Sri Lanka put England in to bat

2016-07-02 11:35
Eoin Morgan (AFP)

Cardiff - Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews won the toss and elected to field against England in the fifth and final one-day international at Cardiff on Saturday.

England had already won the series at 2-0 up with one to play following their dynamic six-wicket win in a rain-affected match at The Oval where opener Jason Roy made 162 on his Surrey home ground.

England made two changes, with Roy's opening partner Alex Hale ruled out with a back niggle.

Hales was replaced by James Vince with off-spinner Moeen Ali making way for an extra seamer in Chris Jordan on a green-tinged pitch.

Sri Lanka made one change, left-arm seamer Chaminda Bandara coming for his debut in place of dropped all-rounder Farveez Maharoof as the tourists went in search of their first win on English soil this trip following a 2-0 defeat in the preceding three-Test series.

"We'll have a bowl first with the weather around, and the wicket is slightly greener than the last one," said Mathews.

"We batted well in the last game, just our bowling didn't happen. Hopefully we will bat well second."

England captain Eoin Morgan added: "I would have bowled first because of the green on the wicket.

"It's a really important game for us. When we've gone ahead the series in the past we've almost let our foot off the accelerator."

No sooner had Mathews won the toss then it began to rain again.

But the scheduled start of play was pushed back by just 10 minutes to 10:40am local time (0940 GMT), with no overs lost at that stage.


England: James Vince, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (wkt), Chris Jordan, Chris Woakes, David Willey, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid

Sri Lanka: Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal (wkt), Angelo Mathews (captain), Seekkuge Prasanna, Upul Tharanga, Dasun Shanaka, Chaminda Bandara, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal

Umpires: Paul Reiffel (AUS), Michael Gough (ENG)

TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Read more on:    sri lanka  |  eoin morgan  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.