Sri Lanka opt to bat first in 2nd Test

2018-02-08 06:39
Dinesh Chandimal (Gallo)

Dhaka - Sri Lanka captain Dinesh Chandimal won the toss and elected to bat first in the second and final Test against Bangladesh at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on Thursday. 

Bangladesh brought back left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak for his first Test in four years. He replaced Sunzamul Islam, who played in the drawn first Test in Chittagong. 

Sabbir Rahman came in for Mosaddek Hossain in the other change of Bangladesh squad. 

Sri Lanka handed Akila Dananjaya a Test debut for Lakshan Sandakan and bolstered their batting by bringing in Danushka Gunathilaka for pace bowler Lahiru Kumara.



Mahmudullah Riyad (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Abdur Razzak

Sri Lanka

Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Roshen Silva, Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Akila Dananjaya

Read more on:    sri lanka  |  bangladesh  |  dinesh chandimal  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.