Sri Lanka bat in 3rd T20 against Pakistan

2019-10-09 15:31
Cricket pitch (File)

Lahore - Sri Lankan skipper Dasun Shanaka won the toss and opted to bat as the team eyes their maiden whitewash in a Twenty20 series in the third and final match against Pakistan in Lahore on Wednesday.

Sri Lanka made five changes to check their bench strength, bringing in Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Perera, Oshada Fernando, Lahiru Madushanka and Lahiru Kumara.

They replaced Minod Bhanuka, Shehan Jayasuriya, Avishka Fernando, Isuru Udana and Nuwan Pradeep.

Pakistan left out the misfiring Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal while fast bowler Mohammad Hasnain was rested. They are replaced by Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed and Usman Shinwari.

The visitors won the first match by 64 runs and the second by 35 runs -- both in Lahore.

The final match will be a special "Pink Day" to raise awareness about breast cancer in Pakistan.


Pakistan: Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain), Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Imad Wasim, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Usman Shinwari

Sri Lanka: Dasun Shanaka (captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Kasun Rajitha, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Perera, Oshada Fernando, Lahiru Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara

Umpire: Aleem Dar (PAK) and Shozab Raza (PAK)

TV umpire: Asif Yaqoob (PAK)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Read more on:    sri lanka  |  pakistan  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the upcoming Proteas v Australia three-match T20 series?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.