Sri Lanka ask Zimbabwe to bat first

2018-01-17 08:21
Angelo Mathews (Gallo Images)

Dhaka - Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews won the toss and elected to bowl first against Zimbabwe in its first match of the tri-series one-day tournament on Wednesday.

This is Sri Lanka's first match under new coach Chandika Hathurusingha and Mathews first game as captain after being re-appointed.

Zimbabwe fielded an unchanged side despite an eight-wicket defeat to Bangladesh in its first match.


Zimbabwe: Hamilton Masakadza, Solomon Mire, Peter Moor, Brendan Taylor, Craig Ervine, Sikandar Raza, Malcolm Waller, Graeme Cremer, Kyle Jarvis, Tendai Chatara, Blessing Muzarabani

Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga, Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews , Kusal Mendis, Asela Gunaratne, Thisara Perera, Akila Dananjaya, Suranga Lakmal, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera.

Umpires: Bruce Oxenford, Australia, and, Sharfuddoula, Bangladesh.

TV Umpire: Chettihody Shamshuddin, India. Match Referee: David Boon, Australia.

Read more on:    sri lanka  |  zimbabwe  |  angelo mathews  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.