Sri Lanka ask India to bat 1st in second ODI

2017-12-13 07:59
Thisara Perera (AFP)

Mohali - Sri Lanka skipper Thisara Perera won the toss and chose to bowl first in the second one-day international against India in Mohali on Wednesday. 

The visitors, who lead the three-match series 1-0 after a big opening win on Sunday, have fielded an unchanged side in their bid to clinch their first-ever series on Indian soil. 

"It is overcast conditions and we want to use it best. Toss will definitely decide the match like the previous game (in Dharamsala)," said Perera, whose side bundled out India for 112 in the opener.

"I think this wicket is better than the last one. I know this surface well as I have played for Kings XI Punjab (in the Indian Premier League). This should be better to bat on," he added. 

India captain Rohit Sharma said his team would have bowled first as well if they won the toss but hoped the players have learnt from their previous mistakes. 

"We have to change our mindset and apply ourselves. The key is to learn quickly from the mistakes and hopefully, we won't repeat them today," said Sharma. "(It's an) opportunity for youngsters to step in." 

Debutant off-spinner Washington Sundar comes in place of Kuldeep Yadav as the only change in India's starting line-up from their seven-wicket loss in Dharamsala.



Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Sri Lanka

Thisara Perera (captain), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella (wicketkeeper), Sachith Pathirana, Suranga Lakmal, Akila Dananjaya, Nuwan Pradeep

Umpires: CK Nandan (IND) and Paul Reiffel (AUS)

TV Umpire: Simon Fry (AUS)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more on:    india  |  sri lanka  |  thisara perera  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.