SL win toss, bowl against India in first T20

2017-12-20 15:31
Thisara Perera (AFP)

Cuttack - Sri Lanka cricket captain Thisara Perera won the toss and chose to bowl in the opening Twenty20 international against India in Cuttack on Wednesday.

The visitors, who lost the preceding one-day series 2-1 on Sunday, made four changes after their eight-wicket defeat in the Visakhapatnam ODI.

They brought in paceman Dushmantha Chameera, debutant left-arm quick Vishwa Fernando, all-rounder Dasun Shanaka and batsman Kusal Perera.

"We didn't bat well in the third match (and) in the second match we didn't bowl well. Now we just have to move on and play our own game. We can beat anyone," Perera said at the toss.

India captain Rohit Sharma said he also would have bowled first had he won the toss but believed his team was capable of handling any situation.

"Dew will be a factor, but we have played under those conditions many times," said Sharma.

"The first games we played against these guys in Tests and ODIs, we didn't have the start that we would have liked but we would like to change things around here."

The hosts made two changes, with Lokesh Rahul coming in for fellow opener Shikhar Dhawan and fast bowler Jaydev Unadkat replacing Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

The second T20 will be played in Indore on Friday followed by the third and final game on Sunday in Mumbai.


India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Lokesh Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Jaydev Unadkat, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Sri Lanka: Thisara Perera (captain), Upul Tharanga, Niroshan Dickwella (wicketkeeper), Kusal Perera, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Dasun Shanaka, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya, Vishwa Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep.

Umpires: Nitin Menon (IND) and CK Nandan (IND)

TV Umpire: Anil Chaudhary (IND)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more on:    india  |  sri lanka  |  thisara perera  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.