SL ask India to bat in 1st ODI

2017-12-10 08:44
Thisara Perera (AFP)

Dharamsala - Sri Lanka skipper Thisara Perera won the toss and chose to bowl first in the opening one-day international against India in Dharamsala on Sunday.

The visitors, who lost the three-Test series 1-0 last week, are looking for a winning start in the first of the three ODI games.

"It looks like a good batting track. We want to chase. We want to do well," said Perera, who replaced Upul Tharanga as captain last month.

Tharanga, who has had a superb run with the bat, remains in the XI with Asela Gunaratne added to bolster the batting. Allrounder Angelo Mathews is available to bowl after recovering from a calf injury.

India captain Rohit Sharma said that the hosts would have batted first even if they had won the toss.

"(The) sun is shining and it looks a good pitch. It is a good toss to lose," Sharma said.

Sharma said it is an "honour" for him to lead the side in the absence of Virat Kohli, who has taken a break ahead of India's all-important South Africa tour in January.

Mumbai batsman Shreyas Iyer has been handed his first ODI cap after playing just three Twenty20 internationals for India.


India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Sri Lanka: Thisara Perera (captain), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella (wicketkeeper), Sachith Pathirana, Suranga Lakmal, Akila Dananjaya, Nuwan Pradeep

Umpires: Anil Chaudhary (IND) and Simon Fry (AUS)

TV Umpire: Paul Reiffel (AUS)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more on:    india  |  sri lanka  |  cricket

LIVE: Pakistan v India

14 minutes ago

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.