Cricket

Sharma fined for hitting stumps after IPL dismissal

2019-04-29 09:40
Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma (AP)

Kolkata - Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma was on Monday docked 15 percent of his match fee for hitting the stumps with his bat following his dismissal in a highly charged Indian Premier League game.

The India batsman smashed three boundaries before being adjudged lbw in Mumbai's mammoth chase of 233 against Kolkata Knight Riders, and vented his frustration on the stumps at the non-striker's end on Sunday.

Sharma, who has led Mumbai to three IPL titles, believed he had edged the incoming delivery from paceman Harry Gurney and reviewed the umpire's call.

But the 'snickometer' technology, which analyses noise, suggested the ball missed the bat and the decision was upheld, with a dejected Sharma having words with the umpire as well as hitting the stumps.

Mumbai lost the match by 34 runs despite a 34-ball 91 by Hardik Pandya at Kolkata's Eden Gardens.

The world's most popular T20 league ends on May 12 with the final in Hyderabad.

Read more on:    mumbai indians  |  ipl  |  rohit sharma  |  cricket

 

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

 
 
Men
Women
Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

Featured

The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs
Vote

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

 
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.