SA's Erasmus scoops top umpire award

2018-01-18 11:57
Marais Erasmus (Getty Images)

Cape Town - South African umpire Marais Erasmus has won the prestigious David Shepherd Trophy for the ICC Umpire of the Year for the second year running.

Erasmus, who is part of the Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, is the fifth umpire to win this trophy after Simon Taufel (2004-2008), Aleem Dar (2009-2011), Kumar Dharmasena (2012) and Richard Kettleborough (2013-2015).

The announcement was made by the International Cricket Council on Thursday as part of the organisation's individual award winners for 2017.


Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)

ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year: Steve Smith (Australia)

ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)

ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Hasan Ali (Pakistan)

ICC Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year: Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)

ICC Men’s T20I Performance of the Year: Yuzvendra Chahal (6-25 v England) (India)

David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year: Marais Erasmus

ICC Spirit of Cricket: Anya Shrubsole (England)

ICC Fans Moment of the Year: Pakistan stun India to win the ICC Champions Trophy 2017

Read more on:    icc  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.