Samuels scoops top Windies awards

2016-07-21 14:02
marlon samuels
Marlon Samuels (Getty Images)
Cape Town - Marlon Samuels and West Indies women's captain Stafanie Taylor walked away with the top honours at the annual West Indies Cricket Board/West Indies Players’ Association Awards Ceremony.

Samuels captured the Cricketer of the Year award as well as the One Day International Player of the Year honour, while Taylor secured the Women’s Player of the Year honour.

The 25-year-old Taylor also earned the ODI Player of the Year and Twenty20 International Player of the Year awards, to complete a clean sweep of the women’s awards.

Samuels scored 484 runs from nine Tests while tallying 601 runs from 15 ODIs and 118 runs from five T20I outings in the last year.

The 35-year-old Jamaican also played a key role in West Indies’ capture of the ICC World Twenty20 in India, hammering an unbeaten 85 off 66 balls in the final to see off England.

He recently led West Indies’ batting in the recent Tri-Nations Series involving South Africa and Australia, carving out 258 runs at an average of 36.85.

Taylor was her prolific in both formats, hammering 491 runs in 10 ODIs last year at an average of 70.14 and 197 runs at an average of 49, in six T20Is.

She was also inspirational in guiding West Indies Women to the capture of their maiden T20 World Cup title in April, scoring 246 runs in six matches. Her half-century in the final was key to the Caribbean side’s victory over three-time defending champions Australia Women.

Darren Bravo, meanwhile, was adjudged Test Player of the Year for his 644 runs at an average of 35, with one century and five half-centuries.

Chris Gayle won the T20 Player of the Year honour.

Read more on:    west indies  |  marlon samuels  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.