Cape Town - The South African Under-19 team’s World Cup match against the West Indies in Mount Maunganui was shrouded in controversy after SA opener Jiveshan Pillay was given out obstructing the field on Wednesday.
Facing Windies quick Jarion Hoyte, Pillay mistimed a cover drive and edged the ball onto his pads.
The ball then dribbled towards the stumps, but stopped before hitting the woodwork.
Pillay, who had scored 47 runs, then tapped the resting ball with his bat, picked it up and threw it to Stewart (WATCH the incident in the tweet below).
Stewart then consulted the two standing umpires before the decision was referred upstairs.
According to ESPNcricinfo, third umpire Ranmore Martinesz made the decision in favour of the West Indies after a long wait and a number of replays.
Law 37.4, which deals with 'returning the ball to a fielder', states: "Either batsman is out obstructing the field if, at any time while the ball is in play and, without the consent of a fielder, he/she uses the bat or any part of his/her person to return the ball to any fielder."
The South Africans managed 282/8 off their allotted 50 overs, before bowling the Windies out for 206 to win by 76 runs.
This was not the first time the West Indies had been involved in a controversial dismissal at a Under-19 World Cup.
At the previous edition in Bangladesh, bowler Keemo Paul 'Mankaded' Zimbabwe's Richard Ngarava to secure a two-run win.
According to the Cricket.com.au website, Paul's actions were condemned by Australia coach Darren Lehmann and former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming, who called the incident "absolutely disgraceful behaviour".