SA seeded 3rd for ICC Champions Trophy

2016-06-01 17:29
David Richardson (AFP)

Cape Town - India will launch their ICC Champions Trophy title defence against traditional rivals Pakistan when the two Asian powerhouses go head to head at Edgbaston, Birmingham, on June 4, 2017.

The 18-day tournament will run from June 1-18, 2017 and will also see matches played at the Cardiff Wales Stadium in Cardiff and The Oval in London.

A couple of days before this mouth-watering all-Asian clash, Australia and New Zealand will lock horns in a repeat of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 final at Edgbaston.

Event hosts and 2004 and 2013 finalists, England, will take on Bangladesh in the tournament opener at The Oval, which will also be the venue for a battle between former champions Sri Lanka and South Africa on June 3.

The tournament schedule was announced at The Oval exactly a year before the first ball is bowled in the tournament, in which a total of 15 matches - including three knock-out games - will be played over two and a half weeks.

The top eight sides on the ICC ODI Team Rankings on September 30, 2015 have qualified for this tournament, with world champions Australia seeded No 1. They head Group A, which also includes fourth seeds New Zealand, sixth seeds England and seventh seeds Bangladesh, who will be returning to this competition for the first time since 2006.

Defending champions India are seeded second and lead Group B, which also comprises third seeds South Africa, fifth seeds Sri Lanka and eighth seeds Pakistan.

The top two sides from each group will progress to the semi-finals, which will be played at Cardiff and Edgbaston on June 14 and 15 respectively, with The Oval hosting the final. There will be a reserve day for the final.

Announcing the schedule, ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said: “The ICC Champions Trophy is a short and sharp event, which is followed and enjoyed by the spectators and players alike.

“The ICC Champions Trophy 2017 is not just an ODI competition, it carries a great deal of value since it is being played just three months before the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 qualification cut-off date. As such, every point earned here could be crucial.

“The announcement of the ICC Champions Trophy schedule 12 months before the start of the event will provide sufficient time to all eight sides to plan for the tournament and arrive in England and Wales fully prepared and geared up so that they can collect enough points to directly qualify for the 2019 extravaganza.

“The ICC Champions Trophy will also be the first of three global tournaments the England and Wales Cricket Board will be hosting over the next three years. Immediately after the ICC Champions Trophy, the ICC Women’s World Cup will be staged while the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, the pinnacle of the 50-over format, will be held in 2019.

“These three competitions will provide the culturally diverse society of the United Kingdom as well as travelling fans from across the globe an opportunity to watch live action and follow their favourite players and sides.”

ECB’s Director - Events, Steve Elworthy, said: “The ICC Champions Trophy was a huge success in 2013, with packed grounds and thrilling cricket, so we look forward to welcoming it back to England and Wales this time next year.

“It will start three years of global events in England and Wales, with the ICC Women’s World Cup following shortly after and then the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2019. It is without doubt an exciting time for cricket in this country.”

In the 2013 event, India defeated Pakistan by eight wickets in a rain-reduced match at Edgbaston and then went on to beat England by five runs at the same venue to win their second ICC Champions Trophy title.

However, in the 2009 event in South Africa, Pakistan beat India by 54 runs at Centurion, which interestingly is their only victory over their old foes in a major ICC event.

Australia won back to back ICC Champions Trophy titles in India and South Africa in 2006 and 2009 respectively, while New Zealand won the competition in Nairobi in 2000 when it was called the ICC Knock-Out.

England are hosting the event for the third time, having made the final on both previous occasions. In 2004, they narrowly lost the final to the West Indies at The Oval by two wickets, while in 2013 they suffered a five-run defeat at Edgbaston.

South Africa won the inaugural event in Dhaka, Bangladesh, in 1998 while India and Sri Lanka shared the trophy in 2002.

Previous winners:

1998* – South Africa
2000* – New Zealand
2002 – Sri Lanka and India
2004 – West Indies
2006 – Australia
2009 – Australia
2013 - India

*The ICC Champions Trophy in 1998 and 2000 was known as the ICC Knock-Out

Groups (based on teams’ rankings as on September 30, 2015; x denotes seeding)

Group A                    
x-1 Australia              
x-4 New Zealand       
x-6 England              
x-7 Bangladesh          

Group B
x-2 India
x-3 South Africa
x-5 Sri Lanka
x-8 Pakistan

Event schedule:

Thursday, June 1 – England v Bangladesh, The Oval (d)
Friday, June 2 – Australia v New Zealand, Edgbaston (d)
Saturday, June 3 – Sri Lanka v South Africa, The Oval (d)
Sunday, June 4 – India v Pakistan, Edgbaston (d)
Monday, June 5 – Australia v Bangladesh, The Oval (d/n)
Tuesday, June 6 – England v New Zealand, Cardiff (d)
Wednesday, June 7 – Pakistan v South Africa, Edgbaston (d/n)
Thursday, June 8 – India v Sri Lanka, The Oval (d)
Friday, June 9 – New Zealand v Bangladesh, Cardiff (d)
Saturday, June 10 – England v Australia, Edgbaston (d)
Sunday, June 11 – India v South Africa, The Oval (d)
Monday, June 12 – Sri Lanka v Pakistan, Cardiff (d)
Wednesday, June 14 – First semi-final (A1 v B2), Cardiff (d)
Thursday, June15  – Second semi-final (A2 v B1), Edgbaston (d)
Sunday, June 18 – Final, The Oval (d)
Monday, June 19 – Reserve day (d)

Match timing:

Day matches will start at 11:30, while day/night matches will start at 14:30 (SA time)

From left to right: Steve Elworthy, Eoin Morgan, David Richardson (Supplied)

Read more on:    proteas  |  icc champions trophy  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.