SA Cricket Annual honour for Proteas quartet

2016-09-22 14:00
Tabraiz Shamsi (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Four bowlers and a wicketkeeper were named as the South African Cricket Annual’s Cricketers of the Year in the publication which was released on Thursday. 

Fast bowlers Sisanda Magala and Hardus Viljoen, spinners Dane Piedt and Tabraiz Shamsi and wicketkeeper-batsman Dane Vilas joined a long list of outstanding players who have been honoured by the authoritative publication, now in its 63rd year.

In contrast to the official Cricket South Africa awards, players can only be named once by the Annual. 

Magala was a stalwart for the Warriors in domestic cricket, bowling consistently in all three formats of the game, taking a total of 57 wickets and earning a call-up to the South Africa A team. 

Viljoen’s whole-hearted efforts brought him 47 wickets in the Sunfoil Series four-day competition, the most by any bowler, and a first Test cap in the third Test against England. 

Off-spinner Piedt completed a successful comeback from a serious shoulder injury, suffered at the start of the previous season, to establish himself as the first-choice spinner in the Standard Bank Test side. 

Left-arm wrist spinner Shamsi bamboozled batsmen in South Africa and played in both the Indian and Caribbean Premier Leagues before making a successful debut for the Proteas in a one-day tournament in the West Indies. 

Vilas earned five Test caps as South Africa’s Test wicketkeeper in difficult circumstances in Bangladesh and India before showing his character by topping the Sunfoil Series batting averages with 761 runs at an average of 69.18, gaining a further Test cap when Quinton de Kock was injured during the series against England. 

The 680-page South African Cricket Annual, which features South African Cricketer of the Year Kagiso Rabada on the cover, is edited by journalist and broadcaster Colin Bryden. It provides a full record of all representative cricket played under the auspices of Cricket South Africa, from international to Under-13 level, as well as feature articles on subjects including transformation and the Gulam Bodi corruption case. 

Acknowledged as one of the best publications of its type in the world, it will be available for purchase through Cricket South Africa’s office. Fans interested in acquiring a copy of the annual can contact 011 880 2810. .

Read more on:    csa  |  hardus viljoen  |  tabraiz shamsi  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.