SA 'A', India 'A' unofficial 2nd Test drawn

2018-08-13 17:35
Khaya Zondo (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - After a rain-affected third day limited the action to less than 33 overs, the second unofficial Test between India 'A' and South Africa 'A' ended in a draw in Bengaluru on Monday, with the hosts clinching the two-match series one-nil.

Despite seven wickets falling on the final day, the two sides had to settle for the outcome after the hosts were left stranded on 181/4 after 51 overs in their second innings.

Mohammed Siraj (4/72) and Ankit Rajpoot (3/52) combined to wrap up the tourists' first innings within the opening six overs of the day - Senuran Muthusamy returning an unbeaten 35 as South Africa were bowled out on 319.

India took a 26-run lead into the second innings, with captain Shreyas Iyer (65) and Ankit Bawne (64*) recording a 92-run partnership before play was called.

With a slender lead in place and time running out in the match, India did not get their second innings off to the best start.

Duanne Olivier (2/24), who was in superb form with the ball in the first innings, struck early getting rid of Prithvi Shaw (4) before the fast bowler further compounded the hosts' woes by trapping Hanuma Vihari LBW for a duck, reducing them to 14/2 after 4.2 overs.

Shreyas Iyer joined Mayank Agarwal in the middle as the pair began to rebuild the innings, adding 40 runs for the third wicket before the latter was clean bowled by Muthusamy (2/45) for 28 (44 deliveries, 5 fours).

Ankit Bawne then joined the set Iyer and together, reached their half-centuries.

The home captain (Iyer) hit a 103-ball 65 before he succumbed to Muthusamy while Bawne returned not out at the end of the day's play on 64 off 100 balls (9 fours) with Srikar Bharat (18*) at the other end.

Olivier proved to be South Africa's talisman in the match, finishing with figures of 8/87 and four wickets behind Siraj, the series leading wicket-taker.

While wicket-keeper/batsman Rudi Second ended as the tourist's top run-scorer with 235 runs, including two fifties and a high score of 94 in the first Test.

SA 'A' squad (to play in four-day series against India 'A'): 

Khaya Zondo (Dolphins, capt), Sarel Erwee (Dolphins), Zubayr Hamza (Cape Cobras), Beuran Hendricks (Highveld Lions), Pieter Malan (Cape Cobras), Senuran Muthusamy (Dolphins), Mthiwekhaya Nabe (Cape Cobras), Anrich Nortje (Warriors), Duanne Olivier (Knights), Dane Piedt (Cape Cobras), Dwaine Pretorius (Highveld Lions), Rudi Second (Knights), Rassie van der Dussen (Highveld Lions), Malusi Siboto (Highveld Lions), Shaun von Berg (Titans).

Read more on:    south africa 'a'  |  sa 'a'  |  india 'a'  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.