Rain ruins SA 'A' opener

2017-05-27 19:21
Khaya Zondo (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Rain was the winner when South Africa ‘A’ began their month-long tour of the United Kingdom on Saturday as their clash against Yorkshire was washed out at Headingley in Leeds.

Only 35.3 overs were possible as the tourists, who won the toss and chose to bat, reached 129/4.

This was thanks to captain Khaya Zondo’s unbeaten 56 (84 balls, 6 fours, 1 six) as well as an unbeaten 33 from all-rounder Jason Smith. 

The pair put on 87 together for the fifth wicket after their side found themselves in a huge spot of bother early on. They had slumped to 18/3 and then 42/4 with Jon-Jon Smuts (9), Reeza Hendricks (2) and Theunis de Bruyn (1) all out for single figure scores. Temba Bavuma did manage a start, before he fell for 21. 

But after Zondo and Smith resurrected the innings, rain intervened and did enough to see the match abandoned.

SA 'A' play their second match of the tour against Derbyshire at The County Ground on Monday.

It will be the last match before the first of three one-day games against the England Lions starting next Thursday. They are also scheduled to play a one-off four-day game against their English counterparts. 

South Africa ‘A’ squad for 50-over series against England Lions: Reeza Hendricks (Highveld Lions), Jon Jon Smuts (Warriors), Aiden Markram (Titans), Temba Bavuma (Highveld Lions), Theunis de Bruyn (Knights), Khaya Zondo - captain (Dolphins), Hein Kuhn (Titans), Jason Smith (Cape Cobras), Mangaliso Mosehle - wicketkeeper (Highveld Lions), Sisanda Magala (Warriors), Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans), Lungisani Ngidi (Titans), Duanne Olivier (Knights), Junior Dala (Titans), Dane Paterson (Cape Cobras).

South Africa ‘A’ squad for four-day series against England Lions: Heino Kuhn (Titans), Aiden Markram- captain (Titans), Theunis de Bruyn (Knights), Temba Bavuma (Highveld Lions), Khaya Zondo (Dolphins), Jason Smith (Cape Cobras), Heinrich Klaasen - wicketkeeper (Titans), Wiaan Mulder (Highveld Lions), Rudi Second (Knights), Dane Piedt (Cape Cobras), Lungisani Ngidi (Titans), Dane Paterson (Cape Cobras), Duanne Olivier (Knights), Junior Dala (Titans), Beuran Hendricks (Cape Cobras).

Read more on:    cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the upcoming India v Proteas three-match ODI series?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.