Rain washes away SA women's T20 hopes in Centurion

2018-02-21 20:17
Dane van Niekerk (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - India women took an unassailable 2-1 lead in the five-match Cricket South Africa (CSA) Women's T20 series after the fourth match against the Proteas was washed out at SuperSport Park on Wednesday.

South Africa's openers, Lizelle Lee (58*) and captain Dané van Niekerk (55) got their side off to a blazing start with a 103-run stand from 75 deliveries before the dismissal of the latter, who was caught at mid-off by Rumeli Dhar off Deepti Sharma in the middle of the 13th over.

Big hitter, Chloe Tryon was promoted up the order to No 3 in hopes to continue the momentum, but Dhar took another catch off Poonam Yadav, seeing her off for just two runs.

Suné Luus followed soon after, losing her wicket for five runs, trapped lbw by Sharma who ended on 2/33 from three overs.

The rain began to fall soon after Mignon du Preez (2*) joined Lee, who did not allow the fall of wickets phase her on the other end, she reached her half-century in 33 balls and her eventual 58 in 38 deliveries, including two fours and five sixes.

South Africa's only option now is to attempt to draw the series when they play the fifth and final match in Cape Town this Saturday, February 24.

The encounter will be broadcast live on SuperSport 2 at 13:00.

Proteas T20 squad:

Dané van Niekerk (captain, Eastern Province), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Trisha Chetty (Gauteng), Shabnim Ismail (Gauteng), Ayabonga Khaka (Gauteng), Masabata Klaas (North West), Suné Luus (Northerns), Odine Kirsten (Northerns), Mignon du Preez (Northerns), Lizelle Lee (North West), Chloe Tryon (KwaZulu-Natal Coastal), Nadine de Klerk (Northerns), Raisibe Ntozakhe (Gauteng), Moseline Daniels (Boland).

Read more on:    proteas women  |  dane van niekerk  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.