Proteas women win toss and bowl as rain abates for T20 semi-final

2020-03-05 10:29
Dane van Niekerk
Dane van Niekerk (Gallo Images)

South Africa won the toss and decided to bowl in the second semi-final of the women's Twenty20 World Cup on Thursday against defending champions Australia after rain cleared in Sydney.

The winner will play India, who reached their first final after their clash against England was washed out in Sydney earlier in the day.

South Africa have never made the final before, and have never beaten top-ranked Australia in any format in the women's game.

"With rain around we want to know exactly what we need to do in a semi-final," skipper Dane van Niekerk said, on why she opted to bat.

"But having said that we are going up against the number one team in the world today."

Australia, who are targeting a fifth world title, go into the game without star all-rounder Ellyse Perry who has been ruled out of the tournament with a hamstring injury.

Spin bowling all-rounder Sophie Molineux takes her place.

"There might be some more rain coming so I was happy to let South Africa choose," said Australia skipper Meg Lanning. "The strip looks really good."

Australia: Beth Mooney, Alyssa Healy, Meg Lanning (capt), Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes, Jess Jonassen, Sophie Molineux, Nicola Carey, Delissa Kimmince, Georgia Wareham, Megan Schutt

South Africa: Lizelle Lee, Dane van Niekerk (capt), Sune Luus, Mignon du Preez, Laura Wolvaardt, Chloe Tryon, Nadine de Klerk, Trisha Chetty, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Nonkululeko Mlaba

Umpires: Kim Cotton (NZL), Nitin Menon (IND)

TV umpire: Langton Rusere (ZIM)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Read more on:    dane van niekerk  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the upcoming India v Proteas three-match ODI series?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.