Proteas trio named in Women's World Cup XI

2017-07-24 18:35
Laura Wolvaardt (Getty)

Cape Town - Three South Africans have been included in the International Cricket Council's (ICC) team of the Women's World Cup.

Proteas skipper Dane van Niekerk, top-order batter Laura Wolvaardt and bowler Marizanne Kapp was selected in the ICC's XI after England lifted up the trophy in a thrilling final against India on Sunday.

The Proteas went down to the England in their ICC Women's World Cup semi-final in Bristol by two wickets.

Wolvaardt starred with the bat for the Proteas scoring 324 runs, which included four fifties.

Van Niekerk led from the front and finished as the leading wicket-taker of the tournament taking 15 wickets including the best of 4/0 against the West Indies.

World No 1 bowler Kapp finished second in the wicket-taking tally taking 13 wickets in her seven games.

The Team of the ICC Women's World Cup 2017 was selected by a five-person selection panel that comprised Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager - Cricket, and Chairperson Event Technical Committee), former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop, former England captain Charlotte Edwards, former India player turned journalist Snehal Pradhan and former Australia all-rounder Lisa Sthalekar.

Team of the ICC Women's World Cup 2017 (in batting order):

1. Tamsin Beaumont (England) - 410 runs

2. Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa) - 324 runs

3. Mithali Raj (captain) (India) - 409 runs

4. Ellyse Perry (Australia) - 404 runs and nine wickets

5. Sarah Taylor (wicketkeeper) (England) - 396 runs, four catches and two stumpings

6. Harmanpreet Kaur (India) - 359 runs and five wickets

7. Deepti Sharma (India) - 216 runs and 12 wickets

8. Marizanne Kapp (South Africa) - 13 wickets

9. Dane van Niekerk (South Africa) - 99 runs and 15 wickets

10. Anya Shrubsole (England) - 12 wickets

11. Alex Hartley (England) - 10 wickets

12. Natalie Sciver (England) - 369 runs and seven wickets


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.