Proteas duo make ICC Women's ODI Team of the Year

2017-12-21 16:03
Marizanne Kapp (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Proteas skipper Dane van Niekerk and world No 1 bowler Marizanne Kapp have been selected in the ICC Women's ODI Team of the Year.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) also announced the women's T20I Team of the Year, with no South Africans featured in the squad.

The two sides were selected by the same panel, which had voted for the annual individual awards, and included Chloe Saltau, Mel Jones, Lisa Sthalekar (all Australia); Charlotte Edwards, Kalika Mehta, Alison Mitchell, Alan Wilkins (all England and Wales); Anjum Chopra, Snehal Pradhan (both India); Olivia Caldwell (New Zealand); Firdose Moonda, Natalie Germanos (both South Africa); Sa'adi Thawfeeq (Sri Lanka) and Ian Bishop, Fazeer Mohammad (Windies).

The panel took into consideration player performances from September 21, 2016 to date.

Van Niekerk led from the front at the ICC Women's World Cup in July when she finished as the leading wicket-taker of the tournament, taking 15 wickets.

The Proteas skipper averaged 10 runs per wicket and her best haul was the incredible four wickets for zero runs against the West Indies during the group stages.

It was one of three four-wicket hauls for Van Niekerk, who also contributed 99 runs with the bat.

Kapp finished second in the wicket-taking tally, taking 13 wickets in her seven games.

The Proteas went down to eventual champions England in their ICC Women's World Cup semi-final in Bristol, losing by two wickets.

ICC Women's ODI Team of the Year (in batting order):

1. Tammy Beaumont (England)
2. Meg Lanning (Australia)
3. Mithali Raj (India)
4. Amy Satterthwaite (New Zealand)
5. Ellyse Perry (Australia)
6. Heather Knight (captain) (England)
7. Sarah Taylor (wicketkeeper) (England)
8. Dane van Niekerk (South Africa)
9. Marizanne Kapp (South Africa)
10. Ekta Bisht (India)
11. Alex Hartley (England


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.