Proteas duo in Ganguly’s best ever XI

2017-04-05 15:01
Sourav Ganguly (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Former Indian skipper Sourav Ganguly has named his best-ever cricket XI, with former Proteas all-rounder Jacques Kallis and South African speedster Dale Steyn selected.

Ganguly revealed his all-time XI on the Lord's Cricket YouTube channel, with the criteria being that he had to have played with or against them, or have been strongly influenced by the players mentioned.

The Indian batsman named the usual suspects, which included Sachin Tendulkar and Shane Warne, both of whom regularly make such lists.

Former Proteas legend Kallis was the only specialist all-rounder selected in the list - slotting in at No 5.

Kallis, who retired from international cricket in 2014, played 166 Tests for South Africa scoring 13 289 runs and taking 292 wickets in the process.

Ganguly picked paceman Steyn as his fast bowling option alongside former Australian legend Glenn McGrath.

When referring to Steyn, Ganguly said that the South African was selected as his second fast bowling option because of the "quality of his bowling and his wicket-taking ability".

Steyn, with 417 Test wickets to his name, needs just five more scalps to overtake Shaun Pollock (421) to become South Africa's all-time leading wicket-taker in the format.

Ganguly, who retired from international cricket in 2008, played 113 Tests for India scoring 7 212 runs and appeared in 311 ODIs scoring 11 363 runs.

Sourav Ganguly’s all-time XI:

Matthew Hayden (Australia), Alastair Cook (England), Rahul Dravid (India), Sachin Tendulkar (India), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka - wicketkeeper), Ricky Ponting (Australia - captain), Glenn McGrath (Australia), Dale Steyn (South Africa), Shane Warne (Australia), Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka)


CSA pays tribute to Dik Abed

2018-01-19 18:01

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

India may be ranked No 1 in the ICC Test rankings, but after their series defeat to the Proteas, do they really deserve the mantle as world's best?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.