Pakistan opt to bat in 4th ODI

2016-09-01 15:20
Mohammad Irfan (Getty Images)

Leeds - Pakistan captain Azhar Ali won the toss and elected to bat against England in the fourth one-day international at Headingley on Thursday.

England made three changes from the side that scored a world ODI record 444 for three in a 169-run win at Trent Bridge on Tuesday as they went 3-0 up in this five-match series.

Wicket-keeper Jonny Bairstow returned on his Yorkshire home ground after Jos Buttler suffered a hamstring injury and was ruled out in the warm-up.

David Willey, Bairstow's Yorkshire team-mate, replaced fast bowler Mark Wood and Chris Jordan took over from fellow all-rounder Chris Woakes.

There were five Yorkshire players in England's XI -- Joe Root, Bairstow, Willey, Liam Plunkett and Adil Rashid.

Pakistan, bidding to avoid a series whitewash, made four changes.

Left-arm quicks Mohammad Amir and Wahab Riaz, together with off-spinning all-rounder Shoaib Malik and leg-spinner Yasir Shah were all left out.

Giant paceman Mohammad Irfan and batsman Mohammad Rizwan were selected for their first match of the series.

Meanwhile spin-bowling all-rounder Imad Wasim returned after his knee injury, with experienced paceman Umar Gul recalled as well.

England have only once completed a whitewash in a one-day series of five matches or more when they won 5-0 away to Zimbabwe in 2001.


England: Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (capt), Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow (wkt), Moeen Ali, David Willey, Adil Rashid, Liam Plunkett, Chris Jordan

Pakistan: Sami Aslam, Sharjeel Khan, Azhar Ali (capt), Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfraz Ahmed (wkt), Mohammad Nawaz, Imad Wasim, Umar Gul, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Irfan

Umpires: Marais Erasmus (RSA), Tim Robinson (ENG)

TV umpire: Simon Fry (AUS)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more on:    pakistan  |  england  |  cricket

Conflict looms in SA cricket

2018-04-19 20:29

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.