Pakistan bat against England in 1st ODI

2016-08-24 15:26
Cricket new (File)

Southampton - Pakistan captain Azhar Ali won the toss and elected to bat against England in the first one-day international at Southampton on Wednesday.

England recalled the fit-again Durham duo of all-rounder Ben Stokes and fast bowler Mark Wood.

Stokes's season has been blighted by knee and calf injuries and he is expected to play in this match just as a batsman only.

Wood has not appeared for England since a Test against Pakistan in Dubai in October following a longstanding ankle problem.

But he looked sharp while taking four for 25 in Durham's Twenty20 semi-final win over Yorkshire at Edgbaston on Saturday.

England decided against playing Jonny Bairstow as a batsman only, with regular ODI wicket-keeper Jos Buttler behind the stumps.

Pakistan made one change to the side that thrashed Ireland by 255 runs in a one-day international in Malahide last Thursday, with left-arm quick Wahab Riaz replacing Hasan Ali.

That match saw Pakistan's Sharjeel Khan score the third fastest 150 in ODI history.

Pakistan opted against recalling leg-spinner Yasir Shah.

This day/night fixture at south coast county Hampshire's headquarters ground is the first of a five-match series.

Pakistan, now the world's top-ranked Test side after their recent 2-2 series draw in England, are currently a lowly ninth in the equivalent ODI standings.


England: Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (capt), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wkt), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood

Pakistan: Azhar Ali (capt), Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (wkt), Mohammad Nawaz, Imad Wasim, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Umar Gul

Umpires: Simon Fry (AUS), Rob Bailey (ENG)

TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more on:    pakistan  |  england  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

India may be ranked No 1 in the ICC Test rankings, but after their series defeat to the Proteas, do they really deserve the mantle as world's best?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.