Pakistan announce T20 squad for Sri Lanka series

2017-10-17 17:07
Sarfraz Ahmed (Getty)

Lahore - Pakistan recalled pace spearhead Mohammad Amir in the 16-man squad for the three-match Twenty20 series against Sri Lanka starting next week.

The 25-year-old suffered a shin injury during the second Test in Dubai but is included in the squad after rehab in the hope that he will recover in time.

The first two matches will be played in Abu Dhabi on October 26 and 27 before teams fly to Lahore for the final game on October 29.

Sarfraz Ahmed will lead the Pakistan side.

Sri Lanka Cricket Monday confirmed their team will tour Lahore in a 'fly in, fly out' arrangement for just one day -- eight years after their team bus was attacked by gunmen in the same city.

The attacks, which left eight people killed and seven visiting players and their staff injured, forced international teams to stay away from Pakistan over security fears.

Pakistan successfully hosted the final of the Pakistan Super League in Lahore earlier this year and last month's three-match Twenty20 series against a World XI revived international cricket in the country.

Also staging a comeback in the squad is spinning allrounder Mohammad Hafeez who was dropped for the World XI series, while pace allrounder Amir Yamin has also been recalled after his performance in domestic matches.

Yamin played his last international match, against England in the UAE, in 2015.

Squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shahzad, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Amir Yamin, Mohammad Amir (subject to fitness clearance), Rumman Raees, Usman Shinwari, Umar Amin

Read more on:    pakistan  |  sarfraz ahmed  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.