No Proteas in ICC World XI for Windies charity match

2018-05-07 20:42
Eoin Morgan (Getty Images)

Cape Town - There will be no South Africans participating for this year's fund-raising Twenty20 International, which sees the ICC World XI take on the West Indies.

In September last year, five Proteas played in a T20 match between the ICC World XI and Pakistan in Lahore, with Faf du Plessis leading the World squad.

However, this year the ICC World XI will be led by England T20I skipper Eoin Morgan and will take place at Lord's on May 31.

The fixture has been given international status by the ICC, with the proceeds set to go towards the restoration and renovation of five venues in the Caribbean - Ronald Webster Park in Anguilla, Sir Viv Richards Stadium in Antigua, Windsor Park Stadium in Dominica, A.O. Shirley Recreation Ground in BVI and Lumber Ball Park in St Maarten - that were damaged by Hurricanes Irma and Maria to varying degrees late last year.

"It's a great honour to be leading a side which has a selection of players from a number of nations, and I can't wait to get on to the field for what promises to be an engrossing contest," said Morgan.

"The build-up to the event on 31st May has been very exciting with new additions announced on a regular basis, and the anticipation has been growing daily.

"I'm sure all the players, including those of the Windies side, are eager to play at Lord's. It's a fantastic feeling that we will be all getting together for a good cause. The cricket fraternity should be very proud that the funds raised from the match will help rebuild the stadia in the Caribbean and also contribute to the growth of the game."

The Windies, the reigning ICC World T20 champions, will be led by Carlos Brathwaite, with the side full of big-ticket T20 stars like Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree and Andre Russell.

World XI squad:

Eoin Morgan (captain - England), Dinesh Karthik (wk - India), Mitchell McClenaghan (Australia), Hardik Pandya (India), Thisara Perera (Sri Lanka), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Luke Ronchi (wk - New Zealand), Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Shoaib Malik (Pakistan), Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh), Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh)

Read more on:    icc  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Following the Proteas' dire tour of India, how will their 4-Test series against England pan out?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.