Morgan wins toss, bowls first to level series

2018-07-06 18:56
Virat Kohli (Gallo Images)

Cardiff - England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and elected to bowl as his side attempt to level the Twenty20 series against India in the second match in Cardiff on Friday.

LIVE: England v India, 2nd T20I

England were overwhelmed by eight wickets in the opener in Manchester on Tuesday and on Friday handed a T20 international debut to Nottinghamshire quick bowler Jake Ball.

Ball, who has been capped 18 times in the longer ODI format, replaced Moeen Ali in the England line-up with England leaving the spinner out because of the relatively small ground.

India were unchanged from the side that were so impressive in the first match.

India lead the series 1-0 after the win at Old Trafford which saw Kuldeep Yadav take five for 24 with his left-arm wrist spin.

But Yadav's spell had been the subject of controversy with England's David Willey complaining that the bowler was pulling out of his run-up in an attempt to hoodwink the batsmen.

England have been working with Merlyn, their bowling machine, which mimics Yadav's action in an attempt to neutralise his threat.

The series concludes with the third T20 game in Bristol on Sunday before three 50-over internationals and a five match Test series.



Jason Roy, Jos Buttler (wkt), Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (capt), Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, David Willey, Liam Plunkett, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid


Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (capt), Surish Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wkt), Hardik Pandya, Yuzendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav

Umpires: Michael Gough (ENG), Tim Robinson (ENG)

Third umpire: Alex Wharf (ENG)

Fourth umpire: Rob Bailey (ENG)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Read more on:    india  |  england  |  eoin morgan  |  virat kohli  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.