Morgan returns for England, Australia bowl in 3rd ODI

2018-06-19 16:14
Eoin Morgan (Getty Images)

Nottingham - England captain Eoin Morgan returned to lead the side as the hosts tried to take an unassailable 3-0 lead against Australia in a one-day international series on Tuesday.

READ: Steyn sets sights on major Test milestones

A back spasm shortly before Sunday's toss meant Morgan missed England's 38-run win over world champions Australia as his side went 2-0 up in a five-match series.

But he was fit to resume leadership duties at Trent Bridge on Tuesday for a day/night clash, with Sam Billings dropping out of the XI led to victory by stand-in skipper Jos Buttler in Wales.

LIVE: England v Australia, 3rd ODI

Australia captain Tim Paine won the toss on Tuesday and opted to field first in overcast conditions on a ground known for assisting swing bowlers.

"We would've done the exact same, we prefer chasing and it looks a fantastic wicket," said Morgan at the toss.

"But we'll look to post a good score and defend it now."

The Irishman added: "There are challenges for both batsmen and bowlers here so it'll be an intriguing game.

"We did think about playing Tom Curran as the extra bowler but we've gone well at this ground with this team before so we went for the same balance."

Australia too made just the one change, with fast bowler Billy Stanlake, fit again after a toe injury, replacing fellow paceman Kane Richardson.

"It's good to have Billy Stanlake back - he's got the X-Factor," Paine told BBC Radio's Test Match Special.

"If you have anyone in the squad with pace and ability like that, you always want them in your team."

Australia were looking to avoid an eighth defeat in nine matches at this level against 2019 World Cup hosts England - who are currently top of the ODI rankings.



Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Jos Buttler (wkt), Moeen Ali, David Willey, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood


Travis Head, D'Arcy Short, Shaun Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Aaron Finch, Tim Paine (captain/wkt), Ashton Agar, Andrew Tye, Jhye Richardson, Billy Stanlake

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI), Tim Robinson (ENG)

TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Read more on:    england  |  australia  |  eoin morgan  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Following the Proteas' dire tour of India, how will their 4-Test series against England pan out?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.